Buhari names Adesina, Djeba, Seriki, 39 others as ambassadors-nominees

By AdvocateNews on 02/07/2020

Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon

Views: 444

President Muhammadu Buhari
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday requested the Senate to screen and confirm 42 non-career and one career ambassadors.

The Nation learnt that the President retained 11 serving non-career ambassadors and recalled 35 of them.

President Buhari’s request letter was read on the floor at plenary by Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Among the nominees are two frontline journalists Debo Adesina (Oyo) and Oma Djebah (Delta) as well as a former Minister of State for Defence, Ademola Seriki (Lagos) and Mr. Dare Sunday Awoniyi (Kogi).

The President also urged the Upper Chamber to confirm Mr. Sulyman Sani as a career ambassador representing the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Sulyman’s nomination may not be unconnected with the protest by Senator Philip Aduda (FCT) that the territory was neglected in the earlier list of career ambassadors sent to the Senate for confirmation.

Following the reading of President Buhari’s letter, Aduda, raising a point of order, thanked Lawan for helping to ensure that the FCT was not neglected in the appointment of the career ambassadors.

He averred that the Senate President would also intervene to ensure that the FCT is represented in the appointment of non-career ambassadors.

Other non-career ambassadors-designate are: Umar Suleiman (Adamawa), L. S. Mandama (Adamawa), Oboro Effiong Akpabio (Akwa Ibom), Chief Elijah Onyeagba (Anambra), Abubakar D. Ibrahim Siyi (Bauchi), Philip K. Ikurusi (Bayelsa), Tarzoor Terhemen (Benue), Paul Ogba Adikwu (Benue), Al-Bashir Ibrahim Al-Hassan (Borno), Brig.-Gen. Bwala Yusuf Bukar (Borno) and Prof. Monique Ekpong (Cross River).

Also on the list are:  Ominyi N. Eze (Ebonyi), Yamah Mohammed Musa (Edo), Maj.-Gen. C. O. Ugwu (Enugu), Dr. Hajara I. Salim (Gombe), Obiezu Ijeoma Chinyerem (Imo), Ali M. Magashi (Jigawa), Prof. M. A. Makarfi (Kaduna), Hamisu Umar Takalmawa (Kano), Jazuli Imam Galandanci (Kano), Amina Ado Kurawa (Kano), Ambassador Yahaya Lawal (Katsina), Ibrahim Kayode Laaro (Kwara) and Abioye Bello (Kwara).

The President also nominated Zara Maazu Umar (Kwara), Henry John Omaku (Nasarawa), Chief Sarafa Tunji Isola (Ogun), Mrs. Nimi Akinkugbe (Ondo), Adejare Bello (Osun), Adeshina Alege (Oyo), Ms. Folakemi Akinyele (Oyo), Shehu Abdullahi Yibaikwal (Plateau), Maureen Tamuno (Rivers), Faruk Yabo (Sokoto), Adamu M. Hassan (Taraba), Alhaji Yusuf Mohammed (Yobe) and Abubakar Moriki (Zamfara) as non-career Ambassadors-designate.

President Buhari, in a letter titled “Appointment of non-career Ambassadors-Designate” said: “In accordance with Section 171 (1),(2)(c) and subsection (4) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under listed 41 names of nominees as non-career ambassadors-designate.”

The ambassadors retained by the President are: Dr. Uzoma Emenike (Ireland), Prof. Tijjani Muhammad Bande (Permanent Representative to the UN), Yusuf Tuggar (Germany), Dr. Eniola Irele (France), Adeyinka O. Asekun (Canada), Maj.-Gen. Chris Eze (India), Dr. Eniola Ajayi (Hungary), Joseph Olusola (Togo), Uyagwe Igbe (Mozambique), Baba Madugu (Switzerland) and Muhammadu Rimi Barbade (United Arab Emirates). It was learnt that the President reviewed their performance and decided to retain them for distinguishing themselves in the service of the country.

Posted 02/07/2020 01:13:10 AM


Share on facebook Yahoo mail icon Gmail icon


You may also like...
Police kill, dump Enugu apprentice mechanic in stream...

I didn’t buy N573m property on Magu’s behalf...

3,641 killed in Benue, Zamfara, four others in...

Enugu Nike Lake Hotel Board wants llegal structures...

Ekweremadu splashes N29m Scholarships, Bursary on Constituents

Gov Bello didn’t account for N53.8bn in 3yrs,...

El-Rufai tests positive for coronavirus

Second Niger Bridge amongst Buhari’s priority projects –...

Senate will be fair to all, Lawan assures...

Deadline on Leah Sharibu: Religious leaders appeal to...

How Air Force personnel, others robbed Magu’s farm...

Buhari’s ex-health minister’s son kidnapped at gunpoint


Latest News NASS lauds Ugwuanyi’s leadership qualities Libel: Wike sues ThisDay for N7bn Nigerians question minister over claims FG spent N523m on school feeding during lockdown IPMAN orders sale of petrol at N150 per litre RevolutionNow: DSS rearrests Bakare, three others Man U qualify for Europa League quarter-final Army speaks on Soldiers involved in Ebonyi bullion van robbery in which four policemen died Female soldier raped by bandits appeals dismissal Ohanaeze passes vote of confidence on President-General, Chief John Nwodo Al-Qaeda infiltrates Nigeria through North-West – United States Akwa Ibom APC Chairman is dead Nigerians not banned from visiting Dubai, official clarifies


Most Read I’ve no Coronavirus, govt wants to kill me – Anambra Index case (38,302 views) Fleeing ex-DG Imo Broadcasting Corporation who stabbed wife to death arrested (26,394 views) Full Text of Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi’s 2016 Budget Speech (17,724 views) Ex-Heads of State will protect Jonathan from persecution —Kukah (17,453 views) HUSHPUPPI: CRIMINALS HAVE NO TRIBE. THEY SHAME ALL OF US... (17,009 views) ASUU strike: Senate intervention ends in deadlock (16,586 views) All you need to know about Peter Obi, PDP VP Candidate (16,275 views) Ugwuanyi commends FG’s siting of ICT University in Enugu (15,425 views) Sickle cell support group seeks government intervention (14,417 views) Ebonyi bans embalming of corpses in homes (14,260 views) DEMOCRACY DAY: President Muhammadu Buhari’s full speech (13,749 views) France wins 2018 World Cup Final (13,064 views)





Julius Agwu - Crazy Interview Demands